EIU Men's Basketball

Normal, Illinois
As a current EIU student, I think it's time to start paying attention to what Jay Spoonhour is doing here with the men's basketball team. As of now they're 11-6 and have started 5-0 in OVC play (first time ever), currently have an RPI of 126 (compared to the 290ish range they have been the past two seasons), are ranked 196th in the KenPom rankings (compared to 290 in previous seasons as well), and are coming off impressive wins against Belmont and Eastern Kentucky. It's still too early to tell exactly how this team will do the rest of the season considering they have had a lot of close wins that could have easily resulted in losses, but considering the scrap heap of a program that Spoonhour inherited two years ago, it's time to applaud him for the work he has done and the positive effect it should have on Illinois college basketball considering how mediocre it has been statewide these past few seasons.

As a current EIU student, I think it's time to start paying attention to what Jay Spoonhour is doing here with the men's basketball team. As of now they're 11-6 and have started 5-0 in OVC play (first time ever), currently have an RPI of 126 (compared to the 290ish range they have been the past two seasons), are ranked 196th in the KenPom rankings (compared to 290 in previous seasons as well), and are coming off impressive wins against Belmont and Eastern Kentucky. It's still too early to tell exactly how this team will do the rest of the season considering they have had a lot of close wins that could have easily resulted in losses, but considering the scrap heap of a program that Spoonhour inherited two years ago, it's time to applaud him for the work he has done and the positive effect it should have on Illinois college basketball considering how mediocre it has been statewide these past few seasons.
It'll go up after this win, the site hasn't updated yet.

Geneva, IL